Weekly photo challenge – Indulge – March 3, 2012 – No regrets

So I read something recently about the top five regrets of dying people.  (Props to Huffington Post for this):

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5.  I wish that I had let myself be happier.

So in the spirit of no regrets, I have decided to work on them preemptively.  In tackling number one (the biggest one), I am a hippie.  No I don’t believe in rampant drug use but I love the idea of being mellow.  Fascinated by the idea of a commune but can’t buy into free love (for me – not judging, just saying).  Completely buy into focus on inner beauty but don’t want hairy armpits and will not stop bathing.  In terms of everything else (what’s left – music and patchouli and gauzy dresses?) I am a hippie.

I am also working on positive thinking and visualization.  I picture myself 40 pounds lighter.  Should be 60 but let’s be realistic.  I have published a book.  We are taking a road trip with six to eight of our closest friends in my VW camper to a music festival.  We are free.

That’s probably what I regret so far, not being free enough.  Every year in the yearbook, my advice to the kids is – Be you.  Be free.  What else is involved in that?  Probably living in the moment and not worrying about what people think of me.  Writing has helped me with living in the moment.  In trying to be a better writer, I pay closer attention to details.  I observe.  I actually fully listen to people.  This means I have to be living in the present.  When I drive to work, instead of worrying about what I need to do that day or stressing about what has happened the day before, I am wondering why the snow geese are flying west, I am enjoying the ride.  I am using my voice recorder function on my phone to capture all of my ponderings before they fly away.

2 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge – Indulge – March 3, 2012 – No regrets

  1. I think you are confused about some of the traits you describe as being a hippie and a lesbian! But, I think this is very good!

Leave a Reply

